Corn Soup for the Soul, Ponderments

Met a homeless man today …

Met a homeless man today in front of the San Fernando Roman Catholic Church on the Promenade.Image

He was thirsty and asked for some change to buy a bottle of water. Normally, I would actually get whatever item is asked for without giving cash (for fear of it being used on drugs or other worthless activities), but I was in a rush to register my son for his new primary school.

However this guy was a curious character; he reminded me of a kindly hermit. He seemed as lucid as day and showed no signs of being on drugs; there was something about his spirit (vibe/aura…call it whatever) that was trustworthy, so I handed him a $20 and told him to use it on foodstuff and no naughtiness.

I was smiling as usual of course, and he looked at me with strange but warm sharpness.

“Read Psalm 19″ he told me softly.”It will help you with your eyes.”

A little bit taken aback and wondering if he were referring to my thick glasses and the actual healing of my eyes, I grinned and nodded in agreement. As I walked away, wishing him a good afternoon, he called after me “Make sure to read it. It will help you with your vision. Psalm 19.”

Later on, after doing our nightly story-time and devotion, my boys dropped asleep and I lay tossing and turning on my bed, troubled by my current state of affairs. I’ve been wrestling with personal decisions; life choices and my family’s direction, and for some time I’d been asking my Heavenly Father for some direct Word to help me gain visual clarity through the dark clouds of confusion.

And then the words popped back into my mind: Psalm 19.

I grabbed up Mr. Light (my trusty laptop) and punched in Bible Gateway. The following verse came up:

Psalm 19: New King James Version (NKJV):

To the Chief Musician. A Psalm of David.

19 The heavens declare the glory of God;
And the firmament shows His handiwork.
2 Day unto day utters speech,
And night unto night reveals knowledge.
There is no speech nor language
Where their voice is not heard.
4 Their line has gone out through all the earth,
And their words to the end of the world.

In them He has set a tabernacle for the sun,

5 Which is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
And rejoices like a strong man to run its race.
6 Its rising is from one end of heaven,
And its circuit to the other end;
And there is nothing hidden from its heat.

7 The law of the Lord is perfect, converting the soul;
The testimony of the Lord is sure, making wise the simple;
8 The statutes of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart;
The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes;
9 The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring forever;
The judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether.
10 More to be desired are they than gold,
Yea, than much fine gold;
Sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb.
11 Moreover by them Your servant is warned,
And in keeping them there is great reward.

12 Who can understand his errors?
Cleanse me from secret faults.
13 Keep back Your servant also from presumptuous sins;
Let them not have dominion over me.
Then I shall be blameless,
And I shall be innocent of great transgression.

14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart
Be acceptable in Your sight,
O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

“The commandment of the Lord is pure, enlightening the eyes.” It cleared up everything, and instantly, I knew what to do.

I am awed that God’s direct words to me would come from such an unassuming, humble source. He can use just about anyone to make a lasting impact on others; no matter their social standing:

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven. – KJV Matthew 5:3

It’s the first time I’m discussing my faith on the Frizzle Fowl forum, and I deliberately usually take a stand-offish approach when it comes to religion. But I think Jesus Christ is awesome and so I follow him. He was a revolutionary rebel, who was not afraid to stand up for what was right, and was never one to shun the social outcasts, “tax collectors and sinners”. He called us to take up the cause of the poor and undesireable, and not brush them aside.

This short encounter with the homeless man on the Promenade has been surreal, impacting and effectual. And I am thankful for him, wherever he is.

2 thoughts on “Met a homeless man today …”

  1. I enjoy the way you write. This post was quite inspirational and it really shows that God works through unimaginable ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

