Conversations with the boys, Raisin Pickneys

Conversations with my boys: The self-declared, 4 year old vegetarian.

After discussion about having chicken wontons for lunch, my four year old Tiriel became very quiet and contemplative.

After some minutes he solemly declared: “Mama, I do not want to eat animals because they would get hurt. ”

Me (totally caught off guard): “You mean you want to be a vegetarian?”

Tiriel (with intense conviction written all over his adorable little face): “Yes. A vegetarian. I do not want to murder any animal.”

Me: Ded*

>>>  I marvel at the moral consciousness that children display at the earliest of ages, and am utterly gratified by this display of compassion and sentience. I’m personally a meat lover but I fully support his decision.

Now off to find some vegetarian kid-friendly recipes….Suggestions anyone?

Image

2 thoughts on “Conversations with my boys: The self-declared, 4 year old vegetarian.”

Leave a Reply

